Thank you for the early birthday presents

So, at around 1:20 PM today (Massachusetts time,) I will be be 21 years old. However, before that has happened, there are some things I am already thankful for. Yes, there are friends (one of them came over to visit, and it was awesome!) Yes, my family is wonderful. However, while them being in my life is way more than enough, they haven’t given me anything this year. (At least, not yet.) They also couldn’t give me the best gift I could have received this year. No, that gift has already come, and it was from you guys.

As I write this, over the past week, I have received around 420 views, 83 visitors, and 16 comments from people other than me. To put that in perspective, in the month I have been doing this, I have received 581 views from 131 visitors. And those comments? They were all in the past week.

As a writer, I have to reiterate, this is the best gift you guys could give me. To the people who have commented already, thank you so much. I could be getting Penny-Arcade levels of views, but it wouldn’t mean anything without you guys giving your feedback. To anyone reading this post, this includes mandragons, keizero, Hristopher Kitchens, and seronx. There is another, but she (at least, I think she’s a she) deserves special mention. Another person who deserves mention is Paimon from Spacebattles. He might  be the only person who’s noticed I post there.

Also a shout-out to the people following my page: kingandcommoner, mandragons (again) and taulsn. You guys are great.

There are also a few people I’d like to thank IRL. My parents, of course, for not harrasing me to find a job or find a new college too much. Seriously, most parents would be telling me I should be out looking for a “real” job, even though this is probably the realest job I could ever have. I would also like to thank all my real life friends who’ve signed up to the NIU Facebook Page and who got conned into beta-reading the first few tracks. You guys are awesome. Especially you, John McCarthy. The times you have called usually helped brighten my day.

Next up for real-life people who have helped so far are Steve Wiener of the Maynard Public Library for letting me host a talk on web fiction there, and Trina Baker for being a really good art teacher. Also, you guys were also the only two people who showed up for my talk on web fiction, so that’s awesome.

Finally, I’d like to thank Tartra for her review (again, I’m going by your avatar, please don’t hate me if I mixed up genders.) Honestly, I thought I’d have to wait weeks, if not months for my first review. I also figured I’d most likely three stars. However, you gave me four. That was amazing and you have no idea how much this means to me.

Before I go for now, I would also like to acknowledge Wildbow for accidentally inspiring me and showing me how to write a real web serial, and not the poorly-designed mess I was writing before. Also, thanks to those fine folks at WFG Forums. You’ve really helped show me what I’m doing, and I’m willing to bet you’re the main source of my views.

Now, I must go. There is an update due tomorrow morning, and I don’t want it to be late.

2 thoughts on “Thank you for the early birthday presents

  1. Happy Birthday, t4nky.

    Don’t do anything you’ll regret while celebrating it, I know I did on my 21st, but otherwise have fun. I’ve meant to write you a review, and I’ll get around to it in the next week or so. As long as you keep writing and keep having fun doing so I’ll stick around. Welcome to the web serial community, we’re glad to have you.

    Like

    • Don’t worry, I’m with my parents. I *might* have my first alchoholic beverage, but other than that, I don’t think I’ll have the opportunity. Also, thank you for, well, everything in this comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

